Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:51 p.m. - Friday, Oct. 24, 2003
"Professional"
DUMB FUCKS, LYING SACKS OF SHIT, AND OTHER PROFESSIONALS

More than the weather has been hot, although it hit 94 today. My job is a soap opera. There's only one person there that has a brain besides yours truly and both of us have been driven insane by the low developmental level of our co-workers. Today a coworker cut out a bunch of ghost shapes for the 2 1/2 year old kids to color. A very bad learning experience all together. This woman is not so bright and of course takes it personally when one suggests it's not educational.

"That IS the main liability in this line of work," I said with a weary smile. "Stupid people."

The new director has royally fucked up the schedule, both our assistants quit and endless subs have come along, freaking out the kids and making my job much more difficult. I finally handed out an article to the parents which honestly told them how chronic stress, sans an attachment to a consistant caregiver, negatively affects infant brain development. The parents demanded a meeting with the director and her boss and got them to promise they would post the jobs ASAP. The center director would work the afternoons until the position was filled. Now, 1O days later, they once again proved what lying sacks of shit they are.

Oh, and it's time for our annual "goal setting" meeting with the center director. I can think of a few.

1. I will continue to act in the best interest of the children and families, despite the administration's cancerous agenda

A few weeks ago the director asked me to wear a floral smock, claiming it to signify high quality care! I said that dressing like my grandmother did nothing to insure the quality of care in a program and that I most certainly would not. Perhaps on Halloween I might don a floral smack, put curlers in my hair and wear a badge that says HELLO: I AM A PROFESSIONAL.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!